12 Months part-time
6 Months full-time


Thutobophelo Training and Skills Academy is accredited with the Health and Welfare SETA to offer the Frail Care Workers Skills Program derived from Ancillary Health Care (SAQA ID 49606). This program enables learners to successfully enter the care givers profession.

Learners that successfully complete this program will possess the competency to perform community health and frail care worker functions, under the supervision of a professional Health Worker. The focus of this program is to equip the learner with the necessary skills to provide care for frail persons in the Primary Health Care and Community Health environment.
This program is the starting point in Ancillary Community Health Work and enables learners to progress to other qualifications at NQF levels 2, 3 and 4 in related health, development and social care fields.


The medium of instruction is English and learning material is provided by the Academy.
The program consists of 30% contact/facilitation days and 70% practical and workplace application days.
The Program is offered in Sections (12 months part-time), or (6 months full-time)
NQF level 1, consisting of the following seven Unit Standards:

Section 1 - First Aid
  • US119567 - Perform basic life support and first Aid
  • US117017 - Provide information about Tuberculosis and directly observed treatment (DOTS)
  • US116999 - Apply accurate information about HIV and AIDS to everyday life
Section 2 - Frail/ Home-based care
  • US117029 - Provide care to a frail person
  • US119563 - Engage in basic health promotion
Section 3- Basic Primary Health Care
  • US110044 - Collect information to support a community needs assessment
  • US119559 - Demonstrate knowledge of the provision and implementation of primary health care
Thutobophelo Training and Skills Academy is associated with various institutions for practical learning opportunities. These associations enable learners to gain practical skills and experience in all spheres of the health care provider.

HWSETA will issue a Statement of Results and thereafter the Academy will issue a certificate of completion to the learners.
All care givers rendering services in Institutions must be registered with Department of Social Development after completing a HWSETA accredited qualification (Older Person’s Act 13 of 2006 Chapter 13 and 14).


  • Grade 7 certificate
  • Successful selection test
Prospective learners are considered for admission on the intake dates of the program. These dates are available from the registration office of the Academy.
The next intake is 4 March 2019.

R21 400
R10 700 deposit payable on registration.
The balance (R10 700) is payable in six mobthly installments (i.e. R1783 per month).

If you are doing the course part-time over 12 months, you will pay R10 700 deposit and then you will pay off the remainder as you progress through each section as follows:
Section 1: R2060
Section 2: R4120
Section 3: R4520